CWFIA Board of Directors

Executive Board Members

President – Guy Christian

Guy Christian | President

Guy joined the Tulare County District Attorney’s Welfare Fraud Unit in 1996. In 1998, he was promoted to the position of Supervising Wellfare Fraud Investigator.  In October of 2012, Guy accepted a position with the Tulare County Health and Human Services Agency as an Administrative Specialist where his focus will be on Program Integrity and Fraud Training Projects.  Guy has been a member of CWFIA since 1997, serving on the Conference Curriculum Committee in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. He became a board member in 2010 serving as Zone I Director.  Guy was appointed, and later elected as Vice President. Guy became President of CWFIA in August of 2011 still serving in that position today.


Karl Phillipps
Vice President – Karl Phillipps

Karl Phillipps | Vice President

After twenty years as a Special Agent with the US Air Force Office of Special Investigations, Karl retired in 1999 and went to work for Solano County as a Welfare Fraud Investigator. There he promoted to Supervising Investigator in 2010. Karl has previously held CWFIA board positions as Zone III Director, and Secretary, before taking the position of Vice President of CWFIA, which he holds today.


Secretary – John Martire

John Martire | Secretary

John has served as a Peace Officer for 24 years in the positions of Police Officer, Deputy Sheriff, and Welfare Fraud Investigator. He is currently the Chief Investigator for the Mendocino County Health and Human Services Welfare Fraud Unit. John has been a member of CWFIA since 1994, previously serving as Zone IV Director, as well as in his position as Secretary. John was appointed as the CWFIA Treasurer in November 2016, then reappointed as Secretary in September 2018.


Treasurer – Randy Fedak

Randy Fedak | Treasurer

Randy has been a sworn peace officer for 35 years. He holds all POST Certificates through the management level including the Master Instructor certificate. He has worked as a Deputy Sheriff for San Diego County and worked his way up through the ranks of the University of California Police system to the level of Captain/Assistant Police Chief. For the past 18 years, he has worked for the Santa Cruz County Human Services Department with 12 of those years being spent as the Chief Investigator for the Program Integrity Unit. Randy has been a member of the CWFIA for the past 18 years and has held the position of Director at Large for the last 9 years until being appointed to the position of Treasurer in September 2018.


Jean web
Business Manager – Jean Yurkovic

Jean Yurkovic | Business Manager

Jean has been a CWFIA member since 1998 while working with the El Dorado County Department of Social Services, Special Investigations Unit until her retirement in 2009. She is a member of the CWFIA Board of Directors and serves as the Business Manager and Conference Operations Director.


Zone I Nicole Mitchell, Welfare Fraud Investigator, Tulare County
Lupe Rubalcava, Program Manager, Merced County
(Counties-Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Tulare, and Ventura)
Zone II Michael Pearlman, Welfare Fraud Investigator, Orange County
Gregory Mahony, Supervising Investigator, San Bernardino County
(Counties-Imperial, Inyo, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and San Diego)
Zone III Shannon Richardson, Criminal Investigator, Sacramento County
Lee Gemetti, Criminal Investigator, Sacramento County
(Counties-Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Marin, Mono, Sacramento, Solano, Stanislaus, San Benito, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, and Tuolumne)
Zone IV Rogelio Orozco, SIU Lieutenant, Yolo County
Glenn Allen, Welfare Fraud Investigator, Sonoma County
(Counties-Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba)
Zone V Carmen Hernandez, Supv Welfare Fraud Investigator, Los Angeles County
Cynthia Navarro, Welfare Fraud Investigator, Los Angeles County
(County- Los Angeles)


Director at Large– Brandon Behringer, CTTP Compliance Director, Shasta County
Director at Large– William “Chris” Staiger, Deputy District Attorney, Kern County

Medi-Cal Director at Large – Christine Getty, Supervising Fraud Investigator, California Dept. of Health Care Services


Ex-officio Directors

Business Manager & Intercom Editor- Jean Yurkovic, Retired, El Dorado County